The Inheritance Games Series Order (+ More Details!)

Last Updated on October 16, 2023 by Taylor

If you’re a fan of adventurous mystery stories with puzzles, you’re in for a treat! The Inheritance Games series by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is a ton of fun, with plenty of intrigue and unique characters. Read on for more about it, including the series order (so you know where to start – and continue – reading!).

The Inheritance Games series in order

**Please note, some links on this page are affiliate links. If a purchase is made through an affiliate link, I may receive a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. See my full disclosure policy here. Thanks for your support!

What is The Inheritance Games series about?

The Inheritance Games is a young adult mystery series that’s best described as a cross between Knives Out and The Westing Game (both of which I love!). There’s some family drama, some romance, and a whole lot of mystery and adventure.

Not only that, but there’s a mysterious mansion with hidden passageways, rooms to fit every possible activity, multiple libraries, and a dark forest on the grounds. If that sounds intriguing to you, then you definitely need to check out this series!

(Did you love The Inheritance Games? You might also enjoy these other puzzle-filled books like The Inheritance Games!)

Who is Jennifer Lynn Barnes?

Jennifer Lynn Barnes is an American young adult fiction author. She’s written more than a dozen books. Her book The Naturals was awarded Best Fiction for Young Adults by the American Library Association.

As for her series The Inheritance Games, the first two books in the series were Goodreads Choice Award nominees, and the third book was the winner of the 2022 Goodreads Choice Award for Best Young Adult Fiction.

The Inheritance Games Books in Order

Now, let’s break down The Inheritance Games series order by publication date!

The Inheritance Games (Book #1)

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes book cover

Order on Amazon | Order on

Synopsis: Avery Grambs is just a normal teenage girl…until she finds out billionaire Tobias Hawthorne has left her his entire inheritance of 42 billion dollars. But the Hawthorne family – including the billionaire’s four grandsons – aren’t too thrilled to be disinherited.

It soon becomes clear that there’s a game hidden in Tobias Hawthorne’s will. Avery is desperate to find out why she was chosen as this stranger’s heir, so she plays along, following every riddle and searching the mansion for clues.

But when Avery’s life is put in danger, she has to find out which of her new housemates wants her dead – before it’s too late.

(Here’s my full book review of The Inheritance Games!)

Release date: September 1st, 2020

The Hawthorne Legacy (Book #2)

The Hawthorne Legacy book cover

Order on Amazon | Order on

Synopsis: In the second book of the series, Avery has even more questions to answer about why Tobias Hawthorne left her his entire fortune. There are new riddles to unravel, secret hideouts to search, and dangers lurking at every corner. Not only that, but the two middle Hawthorne brothers – Jameson and Grayson – are pulling Avery in two different directions.

Release date: September 7th, 2021

The Final Gambit (Book #3)

The Final Gambit book cover

Order on Amazon | Order on

Synopsis: In the third installment of the series, Avery is down to the final weeks of her requirement to live in the Hawthorne mansion for an entire year before receiving her inheritance. Pressures are building from every angle – paparazzi, finances, danger – and there’s still one last puzzle to solve. But when a surprise visitor comes to the mansion asking for help, everything is thrown off balance.

Release date: August 30th, 2022

The Brothers Hawthorne (Book #4)

The Brothers Hawthorne book cover

Order on Amazon | Order on

Synopsis: This sequel to The Inheritance Games trilogy follows brothers Grayson and Jameson Hawthorne as they’re drawn onto two different paths – a mission and a mystery – across the globe, and grapple with who they want to be now that their lives have drastically changed.

Release date: August 29th, 2023

The Grandest Game (Book #5)

The Grandest Game book cover

Order on Amazon | Order on

Synopsis: The gang is back together! Avery Grambs and the Hawthorne brothers are hosting a tournament of games and riddles, where seven contestants will compete for a grand prize on a beautiful, isolated island.

Each of the contestants has a different reason for joining the tournament – and they all have secrets to hide.

Release date: July 30th, 2024

Do you need to read The Inheritance Games series in order?

Yes, this series should be read in order of release date. If you read the books out of order, you’ll be missing important information from previous books, and it won’t make as much sense.

Is The Inheritance Games becoming a TV show?

Yes! The Inheritance Games is set to be adapted into a TV series developed by Amazon with Sony Pictures and Osprey Productions. The release date is currently unknown, and there are no details yet for casting.

The Inheritance Games is definitely a favorite series of mine, with a plot full of intrigue and puzzles, and characters you can root for. I hope you get a chance to read this exciting YA mystery series!

Related Posts:

2 thoughts on “The Inheritance Games Series Order (+ More Details!)”

  1. hey! i wanted to know if there where any opened auditions for this book turning into a show, i am a huge fan of this series and it would be a huge dream to be able to participate in the show…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *