Fourth Wing & The Empyrean Series by Rebecca Yarros

Last Updated on December 6, 2023 by Taylor

If you haven’t heard of Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros, you might be living under a rock. 😉 This romance fantasy novel has taken the reading world by storm as one of the hottest breakout bestselling books of 2023. And great news: it’s just the start of a planned series by Rebecca Yarros, called The Empyrean!

Fourth Wing The Empyrean series by Rebecca Yarros

**Please note, some links on this page are affiliate links. If a purchase is made through an affiliate link, I may receive a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. See my full disclosure policy here. Thanks for your support!

Who is Rebecca Yarros?

Rebecca Yarros is the author of the breakout bestselling fantasy novel Fourth Wing, about a young woman who is trained as a dragon rider at a brutal war college. Yarros has also written many romance novels, and has written over twenty novels in total.

She has been awarded the Colorado Romance Writer’s Award of Excellence, and one of her novels was a Kirkus Best Book of the Year.

The Empyrian Series: Fourth Wing & More

Fourth Wing is a fantasy romance novel with dragons that’s been likened to a combination of The Hunger Games, A Court of Thorns and Roses, Game of Thrones, and Eragon. It’s one of the buzziest books of 2023, and is all over Bookstagram.

And don’t worry: there’s a sequel! In fact, Rebecca Yarros has stated that there will be a total of five books in the Empyrean Series.

Here are more books like Fourth Wing to read, to help get you through the wait until the next Empyrean series book comes out!

And now, here’s a breakdown of The Empyrean series:

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros (Book 1)

Fourth Wing book cover

Genre: Fantasy/Romance/New Adult

Order on Amazon | Order on

Synopsis: This breakout bestselling romantasy novel is about a young woman with a chronic illness who is forced (by her mother, a high-ranking general) to join a war college for dragon riders.

Cadets are subjected to deadly trials designed to train them for war – and to prepare them for the power-wielding bond they will forge with a dragon.

It’s like a cross between The Hunger Games, ACOTAR, Game of Thrones, and Eragon!

Release date: May 2nd, 2023 (U.S.)

Iron Flame by Rebecca Yarros (Book 2)

Iron Flame book cover

Genre: Fantasy/Romance/New Adult

Pre-order on Amazon | Pre-order on

Synopsis: The sequel to Fourth Wing. (*Beware possible spoilers from the first book ahead*).

Violet Sorrengail survived the threshing at Basgiath War College, but that was just the first step in the brutal training regimen for dragon riders.

On top of Violet’s chronic illness, the vice commandant has it in for her – and he’s determined to drive a wedge between Violet and she man she loves.

Can her wits and willpower get her through the impossible? Even surviving the training may not be enough, when Violet knows there’s a greater threat lurking.

Release date: November 7th, 2023

Will there be a third book in the Empyrean series?

Yes! In fact, Rebecca Yarros has stated that the Empyrean series will be a 5-book series. There are no details yet on the third book’s title or release date.

Will there be a TV show or movie adaptation of Fourth Wing?

Yes! Rebecca Yarros has confirmed that Amazon MGM Studios has optioned the screen rights, and is adapting Fourth Wing into a TV show.

The show is currently in production (produced by Michael B. Jordan’s Outlier Society, with Yarros as an executive producer), but there are no casting or release date details yet.

I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait until the sequel to Fourth Wing comes out in November! I hope you get a chance to check out this fun & addicting series, if you haven’t already.

More posts you might enjoy:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *