Summer Reading List 2020: Exciting New Releases

While this summer will look a lot different than usual, we’re fortunate to have a LOT of great book releases to look forward to. I’ve put together a summer reading list for 2020, so you don’t miss out on any of them!

In this list, I’m focusing on fiction books only. (Sorry non-fiction lovers!)

Summer reading list 2020: exciting new fiction book releases

**Please note, some links on this page are affiliate links. If you make a purchase through an affiliate link, I may receive a commission at no additional cost to you. See my full disclosure policy here. Thanks for your support!

This post will highlight several of my favorite/most anticipated reads, but you can find the full list for June here, July here, and August here.

Summer Reading List 2020

Summer Book Releases: June

Book cover: The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From the bestselling author of The Mothers comes a new novel about twin sisters growing up in the South who ultimately choose two different paths: one as a black woman, and one as a white woman.

Release date: June 2nd

Book cover: The Last Flight by Julie Clark

The Last Flight by Julie Clark

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Two women, both running from something, meet by chance in an airport bar. They decide to switch flights, hoping it will help them disappear. But when one woman’s plane goes down, the remaining woman is forced to make some tough choices. And does this mean she’s safe, or will things get worse for her?

Release date: June 23rd

Book cover: All Things Left Wild by James Wade

All Things Left Wild by James Wade

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

All Things Left Wild is a coming-of-age story and odyssey of two brothers on the run from the law across the American West during the early 1900s.

Release date: June 16th

Book cover: Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “In the latest thriller from New York Times bestseller Riley Sager, a woman returns to the house made famous by her father’s bestselling horror memoir. Is the place really haunted by evil forces, as her father claimed? Or are there more earthbound—and dangerous—secrets hidden within its walls?”

I loved Riley Sager’s books Final Girls and The Last Time I Lied, so I have high expectations for this one!

Release date: June 30th

Book cover: Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert

Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert (The Brown Sisters #2)

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “Talia Hibbert returns with another charming romantic comedy about a young woman who agrees to fake date her friend after a video of him “rescuing” her from their office building goes viral.”

Release date: June 23rd

Book cover: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Mexican Gothic by Sylvia Moreno-Garcia

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Set in 1950s Mexico, Mexican Gothic is a unique take on Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. A debutante receives a letter from her newly-married cousin – who believes she’s in danger – asking for help. She arrives at the mysterious gothic mansion, only to be greeted by even more dark secrets.

Release date: June 30th

Book cover: Two Truths and a Lie by Meg Mitchell Moore

Two Truths and a Lie by Meg Mitchell Moore

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “From the author of The Islanders comes a warm, witty and suspenseful novel filled with small-town secrets, summer romance, big time lies and spiked seltzer, in the vein of Liane Moriarty.”

Release date: June 16th

Book cover: The Second Home by Christina Clancy

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

This novel centers around a summer home in Cape Cod, where the lives of three siblings are changed forever. Fifteen years later, the house brings them back together, and they are forced to figure out if they can ever be a family again.

Release date: June 2nd

Summer Book Releases: July

Book cover: Survivor Song by Paul Tremblay

Survivor Song by Paul Tremblay

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

This new take on the “zombie” novel focuses on a pediatrician and her friend – who’s eight months pregnant – as they fight for survival in a world ravaged by a new virus.

Release date: July 7th

Book cover: The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert

The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: an “all-in-one-day (young adult) love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.” When Duke Crenshaw is turned away from a voting booth, Marva Sheridan makes it her goal to make sure he gets to cast his vote.

Release date: July 7th

Book cover: Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell

Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

If you know me, you know that David Mitchell is one of my favorite authors. I loved his novel The Bone Clocks – it was so different than anything I had ever read. So of course I’m excited for his new novel, which focuses on a fictional British band in the 60’s that rises to fame amidst all the free love and turbulence of the decade.

Release date: July 14th

Book cover: Blacktop Wasteland by S.A. Cosby

Blacktop Wasteland by S.A. Cosby

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Now a family man and honest mechanic, Bug Montage was once known as the best getaway driver on the East Coast. But when one final heist to help him go straight once and for all goes wrong, he’s pulled into a crime underworld that threatens everything he cares about.

Release date: July 14th

Book cover: What You Wish For by Katherine Center

What You Wish For by Katherine Center

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

An elementary school librarian goes up against her school’s rigid new principal – who happens to be her former crush – when his security standards threaten everything she loves about the school. (A new romance by the author of How to Walk Away).

Release date: July 14th

Book cover: His & Hers by Alice Feeney

His & Hers by Alice Feeney

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Anna Andrews almost has her dream job: as the main TV presenter for the BBC’s lunchtime news. But when she’s asked to cover a murder in her hometown, it becomes clear she’s in deeper than she realized.

DCI Jack Cooper is investigating the murder, but doesn’t tell anyone that he knows the victim – until he realizes he could be a suspect himself. Both share their side of the story, but which one of them is lying?

Release date: July 28th

Book cover: The Truth Hurts by Rebecca Reid

The Truth Hurts by Rebecca Reid

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “In this twisty, compelling thriller, a young woman quickly embarks on what she thinks is the relationship and love of a lifetime, and she’s thrilled when her new husband insists they follow one rule: they don’t talk about the past, but it’s a rule that has dangerous consequences—perfect for fans of A Simple Favor and The Kiss Quotient.”

Release date: July 28th

Summer Book Releases: August

Book cover: The Comeback by Ella Berman

The Comeback by Ella Berman

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “A deep dive into the psyche of a young actress raised in the spotlight under the influence of a charming, manipulative film director and the moment when she decides his time for winning is over.”

Release date: August 4th

Book cover: The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “An outsider who can travel between worlds discovers a secret that threatens her new home and her fragile place in it, in a stunning sci-fi debut that’s both a cross-dimensional adventure and a powerful examination of identity, privilege, and belonging.”

Release date: August 4th

Book cover: Migrations by Charlotte McConaghy

Migrations by Charlotte McConaghy

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “For readers of Station Eleven and Flight Behavior, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds – and her own final chance for redemption.”

Release date: August 4th

Book cover: Somewhere in the Dark by R.J. Jacobs

Somewhere in the Dark by R.J. Jacobs

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Somewhere in the Dark follows a young woman trying to rebuild her life after a childhood of neglect – until she becomes a suspect in a famous singer’s murder.

Release date: August 11th

Book cover: We Are All the Same in the Dark by Julia Heaberlin

We Are All the Same in the Dark by Julia Heaberlin

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “The discovery of a girl abandoned by the side of the road threatens to unearth the long-buried secrets of a Texas town’s legendary cold case in this superb, atmospheric novel from the internationally bestselling author of Black-Eyed Susans.”

Release date: August 11th

Book cover: The Heatwave by Kate Riordan

The Heatwave by Kate Riordan

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

From Goodreads: “Under the scorching French sun, a tense homecoming unearths a long-buried family secret in this deliciously propulsive beach read of a mother’s greatest fear brought to life.”

Release date: August 18th

I hope this summer reading list for 2020 has helped you narrow down which new releases you’re most excited about! Stay safe and keep on reading, friends.

If you’re looking for more awesome books to read, check out my list of the best thriller books of 2020 (so far)!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *