The Best 2021 Thriller Books (So Far)

I’m so excited to share some of my favorite (and most-anticipated) 2021 thriller books! This year has been fabulous for thriller releases, from new books by beloved thriller authors like Sally Hepworth and Mary Kubica to exciting debut authors.

To put together this list, I’ve taken into account Goodreads ratings and my own thoughts for the books I’ve read so far. Either way, these books are sure to delight thriller lovers!

The Best 2021 Thriller Books (So Far)

**Please note, some links on this page are affiliate links. If a purchase is made through an affiliate link, I may receive a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. See my full disclosure policy here. Thanks for your support!

Best Thriller Books of 2021

Shiver by Allie Reynolds

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

When ex-snowboarder Milla is invited back to the French Alps for a reunion with some friends from her competition days, she’s intrigued enough to show up. It’s been years since they’ve all seen each other, and the remote mountain resort they’re staying at brings back lots of memories – and secrets. But things aren’t always as they seem, and it turns out someone will do anything to get the truth.

Read my full review here.

Release date: January 19th, 2021

The Burning Girls by C.J. Tudor

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“An unconventional vicar moves to a remote corner of the English countryside, only to discover a community haunted by death and disappearances both past and present–and intent on keeping its dark secrets–in this explosive, unsettling thriller from acclaimed author C. J. Tudor.”

Release date: February 9th, 2021

Too Good to Be True by Carola Lovering

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Skye Starling has struggled with OCD since her mother’s death, but luckily, her boyfriend understands that it’s a part of her. After a whirlwind courtship, he proposes – but is he too good to be true?

Check out my full review here.

Release date: March 2nd, 2021

Good Girl, Bad Blood by Holly Jackson

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“The highly-anticipated crime-thriller sequel to the no. 1 debut of 2019, A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.” I won’t include a full synopsis here, because I don’t want to share any spoilers if you haven’t read the first book. But in general, this series is about a young woman (kind of like a modern Nancy Drew) who attempts to solve true crime cases.

Release date: March 2, 2021

The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“From the outside, everyone might think Fern and Rose are as close as twin sisters can be: Rose is the responsible one and Fern is the quirky one. But Rose has always been Fern’s protector from the time they were small. Years ago, Fern did something very, very bad. And Rose has never told a soul. When Fern decides to help her sister achieve her heart’s desire of having a baby, Rose realizes with growing horror that Fern might make choices that can only have a terrible outcome.”

Release date: April 13th, 2021

When the Stars Go Dark by Paula McLain book cover

When the Stars Go Dark by Paula McLain

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

After a traumatic accident, Anna Hart, a missing persons detective, returns to her small hometown of Mendocino, CA. Hiding away in a cabin in the woods, she learns that a teenage girl is missing. She can’t help but get involved in the search for the girl – but can she trust her instincts?

Read my full review here.

Release date: April 13th, 2021

The Last Thing to Burn by Will Dean

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Set on an isolated farm in the U.K., The Last Thing to Burn is a tense suspense story about a captive woman, with hints of Room and Misery – but with a unique twist all its own.

Read my review here.

Release date: April 20th, 2021

Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone book cover

Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

A young woman returns to her family home in Scotland after finding out her identical twin sister has mysteriously disappeared. She finds the house almost exactly as she left it – including the hidden passageways, ornate rooms, and creeping sense of dread from her childhood. Soon, she discovers someone has left clues for her throughout the house.

Check out my review here.

Release date: April 20th, 2021

The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

A struggling writer (and writing teacher) named Jake hears about a killer idea for a story from one of his students. But when that man dies, Jake decides to take that idea and write his own story, sharing it with the world. But it turns out, somebody knows his secret, and they’re not willing to stay quiet.

Check out my review here.

Release date: May 11th, 2021

Local Woman Missing by Mary Kubica

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“In this smart and chilling thriller, master of suspense and New York Times bestselling author Mary Kubica takes domestic secrets to a whole new level, showing that some people will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried.”

Release date: May 18th, 2021

The Ivies by Alexa Donne

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“Alexa Donne delivers a nail-biting and timely thriller about teens who will stop at nothing to get into the college of their dreams. Too bad no one told them murder isn’t an extracurricular.”

Release date: May 25th, 2021

Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“An incendiary and utterly compelling thriller with a shocking twist that delves deep into the heart of institutionalized racism, from an exceptional new YA voice. Welcome to Niveus Private Academy, where money paves the hallways, and the students are never less than perfect. Until now.”

Release date: June 1st, 2021

Bath Haus by P.J. Vernon

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Bath Haus is a “classic runaway-train narrative, full of the exquisite escalations, edge-of-your-seat thrills, and oh-my-god twists. P. J. Vernon’s Bath Haus is a scintillating thriller with an emotional punch, perfect for readers curious for their next must-read novel.”

Release date: June 15th, 2021

Falling by T.J. Newman

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

While in the air, a pilot learns his family has been kidnapped. He’s given a terrible choice: crash the plane to save his family, or save the passengers and let his family die.

Release date: July 6th, 2021

Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A Black father. A white father. Two murdered sons. A quest for vengeance. Provocative and fast-paced, S. A. Cosby’s Razorblade Tears is a story of bloody retribution, heartfelt change – and maybe even redemption.”

Release date: July 6th, 2021

The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A fast-paced, thrilling horror novel that follows a group of heroines to die for, from the brilliant New York Times bestselling author of The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires.”

Release date: July 13th, 2021

In My Dreams I Hold A Knife by Ashley Winstead

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A college reunion turns dark and deadly in this chilling and propulsive suspense novel about six friends, one unsolved murder, and the dark secrets they’ve been hiding from each other—and themselves—for a decade.”

Release date: August 3rd, 2021

Rock Paper Scissors by Alice Feeney

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“Ten years of marriage. Ten years of secrets. And an anniversary they will never forget. Rock Paper Scissors is the latest exciting domestic thriller from the queen of the killer twist, New York Times bestselling author Alice Feeney.”

Release date: September 7th, 2021

The Night She Disappeared by Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A cold case, an abandoned mansion, family trauma and dark secrets lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s remarkable new novel.”

Release date: September 7th, 2021

No One Will Miss Her by Kat Rosenfield

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A Gone Girl for the gig economy, this is a story of privilege, identity, and cunning, as two devious women from opposite worlds discover the dangers of coveting someone else’s life.”

Release date: October 12th, 2021

These Silent Woods by Kimi Cunningham Grant

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A father and daughter living in the remote Appalachian mountains must reckon with the ghosts of their past in Kimi Cunningham Grant’s These Silent Woods, a mesmerizing novel of suspense.”

Release date: October 26th, 2021

All Her Little Secrets by Wanda M. Morris

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“In this fast-paced thriller, Wanda M. Morris crafts a twisty mystery about a black lawyer who gets in over her head after the sudden death of her boss. A debut perfect for fans of Attica Locke, Alyssa Cole, Harlan Coben, and Celeste Ng, with shades of How to Get Away with Murder and John Grisham’s The Firm.”

Release date: November 2nd, 2021

The Collective by Alison Gaylin

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“Camille Gardner is a grieving—and angry—mother who, five years after her daughter’s death, is still obsessed with the privileged young man she believes to be responsible. When her rash actions attract the attention of a secret group of women—the collective—Camille is drawn into a dark web where these mothers share their wildly different stories of loss as well as their desire for justice […].”

Release date: November 2nd, 2021

And there you have it: the best 2021 thriller books so far! I hope you enjoy these fabulous thrillers. What’s been your favorite suspense read this year?

If you’re looking for more awesome books to read, check out these book lists:

You might also enjoy these Bookstagram-related products:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *