We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange (Book Review)

I hadn’t read a contemporary family drama in a while, so I was looking forward to starting We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange!

It’s about a tight-knit Irish family – The Brennans – living in a suburb in New York. The children are all grown now. When the lone daughter comes back into town, the past and present collide and bring the family’s secrets to the surface.

*I received this book for free from the publisher (Celadon Books) in exchange for an honest review.

**Please note, some links on this page are affiliate links. If a purchase is made through an affiliate link, I may receive a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. See my full disclosure policy here. Thanks for your support!

We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange book review

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

We Are the Brennans: My Thoughts

This story features a dedicated but messy family, with each member holding their own dark secrets. It’s full of drama, most of which stemmed from the shame and pain of holding on to those secrets over time.

I loved the family dynamic, and getting glimpses into their past. The characters were each flawed in their own way, but they were fiercely loyal to their family. While a few things happened that I didn’t quite support, it did feel more realistic – because people aren’t perfect.

There was a bit more repetition than I would have liked, since there are so many narrators and they often rehash the same events through their own perspectives. But overall, I got invested in the characters’ lives and enjoyed the reading journey!

This book reminded me why contemporary fiction can be so engaging. Strong characters go a long way in great storytelling. Fans of This Is Us and Brothers & Sisters will love this!

Rating: 4 (out of 5)

Release date: August 3rd, 2021

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

Looking for more great book recommendations? Check out my list of exciting August 2021 Fiction Book Releases!

We Are the Brennans paperback book on a stack of books with a pineapple next to it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.