New Book Releases January 2021

It’s almost a new year (thank goodness!), and that means lots of new book releases to get excited about! Here are some of the most anticipated new book releases for January 2021.

In this list, I’m focusing on fiction books only. (Sorry non-fiction lovers!)

New Book Releases January 2021 - Fiction Books

**Please note, some links on this page are affiliate links. If a purchase is made through an affiliate link, I may receive a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. See my full disclosure policy here. Thanks for your support!

January 2021 New Book Releases

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.”

Release date: January 5th

Black Buck by Mateo Askaripour

Genre: Contemporary/Literary Fiction

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“For fans of Sorry to Bother You and The Wolf of Wall Street—a crackling, satirical debut novel about a young man given a shot at stardom as the lone Black salesman at a mysterious, cult-like, and wildly successful startup where nothing is as it seems.”

Release date: January 5th

The Push by Ashley Audrain

Genre: Domestic Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A tense, page-turning psychological drama about the making and breaking of a family–and a woman whose experience of motherhood is nothing at all what she hoped for–and everything she feared.”

Release date: January 5th

Hold Back the Tide by Melinda Salisbury

Genre: YA Fantasy/Horror

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“Everyone knows what happened to Alva’s mother, all those years ago. But when dark forces begin to stir in Ormscaula, Alva has to face a very different future – and question everything she thought she knew about her past…”

Release date: January 5th

The Heiress: The Revelations of Anne de Bourgh by Molly Greeley

Genre: Historical Fiction

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“In this gorgeously written and spellbinding historical novel based on Pride and Prejudice, the author of The Clergyman’s Wife combines the knowing eye of Jane Austen with the eroticism and Gothic intrigue of Sarah Waters to reimagine the life of the mysterious Anne de Bourgh.”

Release date: January 5th

Waiting for the Night Song by Julie Carrick Dalton

Genre: Fiction/Nature

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A startling and timely debut, Julie Carrick Dalton’s Waiting for the Night Song is a moving, brilliant novel about friendships forged in childhood magic and ruptured by the high price of secrets that leave you forever changed.”

Release date: January 12th

People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd

Genre: Contemporary Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“A razor-sharp, wickedly smart suspense debut about an ambitious influencer mom whose soaring success threatens her marriage, her morals, and her family’s safety.”

Release date: January 12th

The Divines by Ellie Eaton

Genre: Contemporary/Literary Fiction

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“With the emotional power of Normal People and the reflective haze of The Girls, a compulsively readable literary debut set in a secluded boarding school, exploring the intoxicating, destructive relationships between teenage girls.”

Release date: January 19th

Shiver by Allie Reynolds

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“In this propulsive locked-room thriller debut, a reunion weekend in the French Alps turns deadly when five friends discover that someone has deliberately stranded them at their remote mountaintop resort during a snowstorm.”

Release date: January 19th

In the Garden of Spite by Camilla Bruce

Genre: Historical Fiction

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“An audacious novel of feminine rage about one of the most prolific female serial killers in American history–and the men who drove her to it.”

Release date: January 19th

Before She Disappeared by Lisa Gardner

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Order on Amazon | Support local bookstores

“From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner, a propulsive thriller featuring an ordinary woman who will stop at nothing to find the missing people that the rest of the world has forgotten.”

Release date: January 19th

Click here to view my full list of new book releases in January 2021.

I hope this list has helped you narrow down which new book releases you’re most excited about this month! Cheers to a new year, and keep on reading, friends.

If you’re looking for more awesome books to read, check out my list of some of the most anticipated young adult books of winter 2021!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *